Black Friday Award Sale 2016: As Few as 5,000 Delta SkyMiles for Redemption

R edeem as few as 5,000 SkyMiles for one-way flights on Delta Air Lines — plus taxes and fees — for travel to select destinations within all 50 United States and Canada between Monday, December 12, 2016 and Friday, June 23, 2017, by when all travel must be completed…

Black Friday Award Sale 2016: As Few as 5,000 Delta SkyMiles for Redemption

…but you must purchase your ticket and book your reservation at a minimum of 21 days prior to departure and no later than Monday, November 28, 2016. Award seats are limited and may not be available on all flights or in all markets. No minimum stay is required.

The class of service included in this promotion is the main economy class cabin only on flights which are operated by Delta Air Lines or by a carrier operating as Delta Connection or Delta Shuttle — such as Compass Airlines; Endeavor Air, Incorporated; ExpressJet Airlines, Incorporated; GoJet Airlines; Shuttle America; and SkyWest.

Blackout Dates

Promotional redemption amounts are not available during the specified dates for all markets:

  • Thursday, December 22, 2016 – Friday, December 23, 2016
  • Monday, December 26, 2016 – Tuesday, December 27, 2016
  • Thursday, December 29, 2016 – Wednesday, January 4, 2017
  • Saturday, January 7, 2017
  • Friday, January 13, 2017
  • Thursday, February 16, 2017 – Monday, February 20, 2017
  • Friday, February 24, 2017 – Monday, February 27, 2017
  • Friday, March 17, 2017 – Sunday, March 19, 2017
  • Friday, March 24, 2017 – Sunday, March 26, 2017
  • Friday, March 31, 2017 – Sunday, April 2, 2017
  • Friday, April 7, 2017 – Sunday, April 9, 2017
  • Wednesday, April 12, 2017 – Monday, April 17, 2017

 

Additionally, promotional redemption amounts are not available during the specified dates on the following routes between:

  • Columbus, Ohio and Los Angeles International Airport
    • Thursday, December 15, 2016 – Wednesday, December 21, 2016
  • Dayton and Minneapolis-Saint Paul
    • Friday, June 2, 2017 – Monday, June 12, 2017
    • Thursday, June 15, 2017 – Monday, June 19, 2017
  • Fort Lauderdale and New York-LaGuardia Airport
    • Thursday, April 6, 2017 – Monday, April 10, 2017
  • Los Angeles International Airport and Seattle
    • Thursday, December 15, 2016 – Monday, January 2, 2017
    • Thursday, March 9, 2017 – Monday, April 17, 2017
    • Thursday, May 25, 2017 – Tuesday, May 30, 2017
    • Thursday, June 8, 2017 – Friday, June 23, 2017
  • New York-Kennedy International Airport and Chicago O’Hare International Airport
    • Wednesday, December 21, 2016 – Wednesday, December 28, 2016
  • New York-LaGuardia Airport and Tampa
    • Thursday, April 6, 2017 – Monday, April 10, 2017
  • Charleston, South Carolina and New York-LaGuardia Airport
    • Thursday, March 30, 2017 – Monday, April 3, 2017
  • Salt Lake City and Calgary
    • Sunday, December 25, 2016 – Friday, January 6, 2017
    • Thursday, March 16, 2017 – Monday, March 27, 2017
  • Atlanta and Little Rock
    • Monday, December 19, 2016 – Wednesday, December 21, 2016

Fees for Award Travel

Award travel is subject to government-imposed taxes and fees and carrier-imposed charges, which are your responsibility and must be paid at the time the ticket is booked. Taxes, fees, and carrier-imposed charges depend upon the itinerary; and are at least $5.60 one way for travel within the contiguous 48 United States and between the contiguous 48 United States and Canada.

Cancellations, Refunds, Changes and Transfers

Refunds are not permitted on tickets except in accordance with the cancellation policy of Delta Air Lines.

Fees may apply for downgrades or reissued tickets and itinerary changes.

Changes to award tickets must occur at least 72 hours prior to the departure time of the flight being changed. Award tickets booked within 72 hours of departure are not refundable and cannot be redeposited or reissued unless prohibited by local law or within the risk-free cancellation period. No changes will be permitted to the originating flight of award tickets booked within 72 hours; however, changes to the return are permitted if the return flight is not within 72 hours and the change is made at least 72 hours prior to flight departure. Fees apply for any changes; and taxes and fees will apply. Voluntary changes to award tickets after this promotion has ended may result in an increase in the cost of SkyMiles.

This offer cannot be transferred.

Promotional redemption amounts are subject to availability and seats available at promotional Award prices are limited. Pay with Miles tickets are not eligible for promotional redemption amounts.

Summary

You supposedly can choose from thousands of flights for award tickets as a result of redeeming as few as 5,000 miles one-way plus taxes and fees, which means that round-trip flights start at a redemption 10,000 SkyMiles — which can be a good deal considering the traditional benchmark of the redemption of 25,000 SkyMiles for round-trip flights within the 48 United States when Delta Air Lines used to have award charts — but realize that those minimum redemption options are few and far between.

More likely, you should expect to redeem between 15,000 and 20,000 SkyMiles for round-trip flights during this sale — which is still a deal; but not exactly one where you should go out of your way in which to participate.

Furthermore, the numerous blackout dates preclude you from taking advantage of this sale during times when you most likely want to use them — that is the precise reason for blackout dates in the first place, I suppose — so remain as flexible with your schedule as possible and expect to find the most availability with the least desirable flights in terms of an early morning departure to a destination to which few people would want to travel anyway.

If you cannot participate in this tepid sale, take heart: as Delta Air Lines already had similar sales in the past year — such as this one and this one and this one and this one — chances are that yet another similar sale will occur soon.

Photograph ©2011 by Brian Cohen.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *