Why I Am Avoiding the New Avis Promotion With Hyatt Gold Passport

“I  don’t see many promos where folks can earn Hyatt Gold Passport points for car rentals, so that’s why I decided to put a quick post together. I value Gold passport points somewhere between 1.5 and 1.75 cents each, which means this is likely only a good value if you have a 1-day rental with Avis.”

Think again, Edward Pizzarello, who wrote this article pertaining to earning 500 Hyatt Gold Passport frequent guest loyalty program points on a rental of a vehicle from Avis for only one day.

Why I Am Avoiding the New Avis Promotion With Hyatt Gold Passport

In this article which I wrote on Wednesday, May 20, 2015, Avis Rent a Car System offered this promotion where you can earn 1,000 bonus Gold Passport points, upgrade your rental one vehicle class; and save up to 25 percent on your car rental.

“As a member of Avis Preferred, I was glad to receive an e-mail message from the Hyatt Gold Passport frequent guest loyalty program which could not have been more timely,” I wrote, as I was renting two cars in the United Arab Emirates and one car in Egypt — but none of the rentals were without issues. For additional details, please read this article pertaining to what you need to know about renting a car from Avis at Abu Dhabi International Airport — which I understand is now different; but please read about my experience anyway — and this article about my experience renting a car from Avis in Cairo.

I followed all of the terms and conditions with the aforementioned three car rentals; so I was looking forward to benefiting from this promotion by earning 1,500 total points per car rental — as the offer reflects 1,000 bonus points plus 500 base points earned.

…and Then, The Problems of Crediting My Account Began

After approximately 90 days, I noticed that my Hyatt Gold Passport account still had not been credited with any points — so I sent a message to Hyatt Gold Passport through its customer service feedback area.

I then received the following e-mail message on Friday, September 18, 2015 at 3:31 in the afternoon Eastern Daylight Time in response to my request:

Dear Mr. Cohen,

Thank you for contacting Hyatt Gold Passport; I appreciate the opportunity to assist you.

I would like to inform you that, for 1,000 promotion bonus points kindly contact Avis at avis.com  or at 1800 831 8000.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you require any other assistance with your Hyatt Gold Passport account.

Best Regards,

Johnson D’souza
Hyatt Sales Representative
Global Contact Centre

Okay — not a problem.

I then sent a message to Avis through its customer service feedback area:

I rented from Avis three times this past May and June during a special Escape With Avis promotion where I was to receive 1,000 bonus Hyatt Gold Passport with each rental through July 31, 2015; but the points never posted to my account. What should I do? Thank you in advance.

The subsequent automated e-mail message — which I received from Avis Customer Service on Thursday, October 29, 2015 at 2:59 in the morning Eastern Daylight Time — much of which represented one large advertisement:

Thank you for contacting Avis Rent a Car North America.

We have received your inquiry; it is in our queue for review and processing. You will receive a response within 5-7 business days. Please know we cannot make reservations, apply modifications that affect rates, or extend rentals via email.

If you are in possession of an Avis vehicle and need to contact Roadside Assistance their phone number is 1-800-354-2847.

To check rates or to book reservations, as our rate quotations may not be provided via email, please refer to our website at http://www.avis.com/car-rental/reservation/time-place.ac .

For inquiries regarding changes to an existing upcoming Avis reservation, you may view and modify most upcoming reservations on our website at http://www.avis.com/car-rental/reservation/find-reservation.ac .

To extend the rental of an Avis vehicle in your possession please phone the location from which you rented the vehicle, or the nearest Avis Reservation Center. Rental extensions may not be done via email. You may phone 1-888-897-8448 for rental extension assistance.

For a listing of Reservation Center phone numbers please go to https://www.avis.com/car-rental/content/display.ac?navId=T5M13S00 .

For lost items, we recommend you contact the location at which the vehicle was turned in with a detailed description of your lost item and your contact information.  Some locations will accept online lost & found reports via https://avis.nettracer.aero/client/avis/landing.do .

For information on a specific rental location please refer to our online location search; https://www.avis.com/car-rental/location/loclanding.ac?navId=T2M00S01 .

Did you know you can obtain a copy of your rental receipt online?  Just go to https://www.avis.com/car-rental/rental/display-rental.ac pick the country of rental, input the renter’s last name and either the reservation number or the rental agreement number.  Detailed receipts for European rentals may be obtained via http://www.avis.co.uk/your-avis/manage-booking/request-rental-invoice.

Did you know you can obtain detailed receipts of your U.S.A. toll billing at https://www.htallc.com/default.aspx ?

We appreciate your business and look forward to serving all your car rental needs.

Sincerely,

Avis Rent A Car Customer Service

I received a response from a customer service representative of Avis more than a week later — on Saturday, November 7, 2015 at 2:47 in the afternoon Eastern Standard Time, to be precise:

Case #xxxxxxxx
RES #xxxxxxxxUSx

Dear Brian Cohen,

Thank you for contacting the E-mail Customer Service team.

In order to process your points accrual for your frequent flyer mileage program, please provide a copy of your closed rental contracts (contracts displaying the pick up and return dates as well as the total amount billed for the rental).

Please send the information to the following:

Attn:  Dana Jiles, Frequent Flyer Liaison
Post office Box 690840
Tulsa, Oklahoma 74169-2844
Phone:  1-800-621-2844
Fax:  303-824-3051

We are required to allow 90 days from the date of submission for these points to be applied to your frequent flyer account.

*  Please remember to include your frequent flyer number.

Thank you again for taking the time to contact us and we look forward to assisting you with your future rentals.

Sincerely,

Jann Hill
Customer Service Representative

Great — so now I have to find the receipts; copy them; and mail them in to Tulsa. The cost of copies and postage was minimal; but this was still an expense of both time and money. Nevertheless, I complied with the request.

I heard nothing from Avis until Friday, January 29, 2016 at 1:55 in the afternoon Eastern Standard Time — yes, almost three months after I submitted the requested paperwork via postal mail — which gave me what I thought would be good news…

Subject: Avis Case Number xxxxxxxx

Hello Mr. Cohen,

Thank you for contacting Avis Customer Care concerning the accrual of Hyatt credits for your previous Avis car rental.

Your information has been received and credits requested to Hyatt membership number HY XXxxxxxxxX.

Please allow up to 60-days for the credits to post to your Hyatt account.

Thank you for the opportunity to assist.

Thank you for renting with Avis.

Sincerely,

Dana Jiles

Avis Customer Care

Case Number xxxxxxxx

…and I waited the full 60 days, checking regularly to ensure that my Hyatt Gold Passport account was credited with the proper amount of points which I earned…

…until I realized that the Hyatt Gold Passport number in the text of the e-mail which I received from Avis was incorrect by one digit — and I know that I sent to them the correct account number.

I then sent the following e-mail message on March 4, 2016 at 6:21 in the morning Eastern Standard Time as soon as I discovered the error:

Thank you; but my Hyatt Gold Passport membership number is XxxxxxxxxX.
That explains why my Hyatt Gold Passport account has not yet been credited with the appropriate amount of points.<

Please correct my Hyatt Gold Passport membership number to ensure that my account is properly credited.

Regards,

Brian Cohen

Five days later — on Wednesday, March 9, 2016 at 8:28 in the evening Eastern Standard Time — I received the following e-mail message:

Avis Case Number xxxxxxxx

Hello Mr. Cohen,

Thank you for contacting the E-mail Customer Service team with your frequent flyer inquiry, we are happy to assist you. We apologize for any inconveniences that this has caused. We are sending this information back to our frequent flyer department for processing. Please allow 10 business days for a reply.

We appreciate your patience and apologize again for any inconvenience.

Sincerely,

Nathan Kelly
Customer Service Representative

Ten business days came and went — with no response. I then sent the following e-mail message on Saturday, March 26, 2016 at 5:02 in the morning Eastern Daylight Time:

Well, it has been 12 business days since I received this e-mail message — and not only have I not received any reply within 10 business days; but my Hyatt Gold Passport account still has not been credited with the total of 4,500 points which I earned.

These three credits should have been applied automatically after each rental — not approaching a year after the conclusion of the last rental after physically submitting documents via postal mail as proof and costing me postage, supplies and time to submit them when this could have easily been done electronically.

I should not have to go through all of this trouble chasing what I rightfully earned. 4,500 Hyatt Gold Passport points is not worth all of this hassle — never mind that I do not believe I ever received any upgrades while renting the cars as was supposed to be part of the offer.

For those reasons, I am now hesitant about taking advantage of future offers by Avis.

This whole ordeal has been inexcusable and unacceptable. Whatever happened to “We Try Harder”?

Brian Cohen
Avis Wizard #XXxxxX
Hyatt Gold Passport #XxxxxxxxxX

I received a response via e-mail message on Monday, April 4, 2016 at 1:08 in the afternoon Eastern Daylight Time:

Dear Mr. Cohen,

Thank you very much for letting Avis know about your disappointing experience and we are sorry for the delay in our responding to your email.

Again we apologize for all your concerns in these matter. The above are the dates we submitted/processed your mileage and it has been our experience that it take 60-90 to show in your account.

Please know that all upgrades are based on availability at the time of pick up, they are not guarenteed.

We appreciate your continued patience during this process,

Warm Regards,

Tena Klamm

Representative | Email Customer Service

Here we go again with the 60-90 days. Why should it take so long to credit my account in the first place?!?

When checking my Hyatt Gold Passport account, I noticed that only 1,000 of the 4,500 Gold Passport points had posted to my account — and nothing happened after that. I received no communication from the customer service department at Avis; and no additional points were deposited into my Hyatt Gold Passport account.

I then sent the following e-mail message to Avis Customer Service on Thursday, June 30, 2016 at 11:02 in the morning Eastern Daylight Time:

Next week will be 90 days since the last communication to me from Avis; and only 1,000 of the 4,500 Hyatt Gold Passport points which I rightfully earned have appeared in my account.

The car rentals in question occurred greater than a year ago.

This whole experience is completely inexcusable and unacceptable; and I will certainly think twice before participating in a future promotion by Avis. In fact, you might notice that since this problem was so poorly handled, I have not rented a car from Avis since last year.

I demand and expect the remaining 3,500 Hyatt Gold Passport points to be added to my Hyatt Gold Passport account immediately — and some extra points as a good will gesture for all of the time I wasted chasing after these points would be greatly appreciated as well…

…and no, I refuse to wait yet another 90 days. This issue could be easily resolved. I have no idea why Avis will not resolve it to my satisfaction.

If the remaining 3,500 Hyatt Gold Passport points are not added to my Hyatt Gold Passport account immediately — plus some extra points for all of the time and trouble which I have already endured — I will consider taking further action against Avis in this matter.

Brian Cohen
Avis Wizard #XXxxxX
Hyatt Gold Passport #XxxxxxxxxX

Ten days later — on July 10, 2016 at 10:18 in the morning Eastern Daylight Time — I received the following response via e-mail message:

Case: xxxxxxxx

Dear Mr. Cohen,

Thank you for contacting Avis Customer Service regarding your Frequent Traveler program point accrual. We apologize for the delay in receiving your frequent flyer miles. Your information has been forwarded to our frequent flyer liaison. They will investigate the matter, and then contact you with a resolution.

Please note we are required to allow 90 days from the date of submission for these points to be applied to your frequent flyer account.

Thanks for choosing Avis, we appreciate your business and hope you have a great day.

If you have any further questions, please do not hesitate to ask.

Kind regards,

Jennifer Kirby
Representative | Email Customer Service
Avis Rent A Car System, Inc.

I guess they do not read their e-mail messages carefully at Avis Customer Service — if you want to call what I am receiving customer service — and I have heard nothing from them since.

Need I say that additional points still have not been added to my Hyatt Gold Passport account?

Summary

Life is too short to fly coach, according to the official slogan of Pizza in Motion. Perhaps, perhaps, Ed — but I would counter that life is too short chasing Hyatt Gold Passport points which I rightfully earned through renting three cars with Avis.

More than a year has elapsed since I rented those cars; and I have yet to see the bulk of the Gold Passport points which I earned credited to my account.

I intend to post updates as to the progress of this unnecessary exercise in futility — I am actually believing that Avis Customer Service is trying to purposely wear me down. I am open to suggestions and recommendations from you — as well as reading about your experiences…

…but unless and until I receive a satisfactory solution to this issue in my favor, I do not intend to take advantage of any promotion offered by Avis in conjunction with the Hyatt Gold Passport frequent guest loyalty program in the foreseeable future — and I would advise you not to take advantage of those promotions either…

…unless you just do not care as to whether or not Hyatt Gold Passport points are properly credited to your account.

Photograph ©2015 by Brian Cohen.

3 thoughts on “Why I Am Avoiding the New Avis Promotion With Hyatt Gold Passport”

  1. Tom says:

    Same story for me. Rented in Boston but never got the points. Eventually gave up due to Avis stonewalling. Left a bad taste re. Avis and Hyatt

  2. Ed C says:

    I’ve also had issues crediting Avis points to Hyatt for a few years so I just gave up. Was never an issue crediting to any other partner though.

  3. Alex H. says:

    I actually stopped renting from Avis for a while, it was taking too long to post my points or miles to my account. Almost 3-6 months after my rentals in Athens. In the US I usually rent from National now, a much better experience, picking my own car (Exec) and no problems with posting miles.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *