Last Hilton Hotel in Abu Dhabi Leaving December 18 2019 — and Another Review of the Hilton Capital Grand Abu Dhabi

After its grand opening only almost 6.5 years ago in the summer of 2013 — and after the Hilton Abu Dhabi left the Hilton brand on Monday, December 31, 2018 after greater than 45 years since it opened in 1973 — the Hilton Capital Grand Abu Dhabi will be leaving the Hilton brand as per this notice which was posted at the official Internet site of the hotel property:

Please note that as of 18 December 2019, Hilton Capital Grand Abu Dhabi will cease to operate as a Hilton hotel. As a result, stays booked past this date will not accrue Honors points. Please contact the hotel direct in case of any questions regarding your booking on res.capitalgrandabudhabi@hilton.com

Last Hilton Hotel in Abu Dhabi Leaving December 18 2019 — and Another Review of the Hilton Capital Grand Abu Dhabi

When I wrote this article pertaining to my first stay at the Hilton Capital Grand Abu Dhabi back in 2015, I was upgraded to a large suite…

Hilton Capital Grand Abu Dhabi

Photographs ©2015 by Brian Cohen.

…but when I returned during that same year, I was upgraded to what I believe was a junior suite — which is smaller than the aforementioned large suite — of which this is the entrance.

Hilton Capital Grand Abu Dhabi

Photographs ©2015 by Brian Cohen.

I though that this coat hanger was rather convenient and useful; and a glass plate of fruit consisting of two Delicious apples, a Granny Smith apple, a pear and three bananas awaited me on a table — along with a welcome note and some cutlery.

Hilton Capital Grand Abu Dhabi

Photograph ©2015 by Brian Cohen.

The fruit was actually in good shape, as I did partake in it.

Hilton Capital Grand Abu Dhabi

Photograph ©2015 by Brian Cohen.

The table was a part of this sitting area, which consisted of a corner sofa and two chairs…

Hilton Capital Grand Abu Dhabi

Photograph ©2015 by Brian Cohen.

…but unlike the larger suite, this suite was somewhat more sparse in its furnishings.

Hilton Capital Grand Abu Dhabi

Photograph ©2015 by Brian Cohen.

Near the window in the living area of the suite was another table with a magazine on it, two chairs and a floor lamp — along with a work of art which hung on the wall.

Hilton Capital Grand Abu Dhabi

Photograph ©2015 by Brian Cohen.

A desk with a chair and a large white chest of drawers was located on the opposite side of the room near the window. On it was a full-stocked coffee and tea station, snacks for purchase, two free bottles of water, a telephone, and a desk lamp. A flat-screen television hangs on the wall above it.

The Bedroom

Hilton Capital Grand Abu Dhabi

Photograph ©2015 by Brian Cohen.

The bedroom area was smaller than in the larger suite; but it also seemed cozier.

Hilton Capital Grand Abu Dhabi

Photograph ©2015 by Brian Cohen.

The bed was comfortable, as I slept restfully in it.

Hilton Capital Grand Abu Dhabi

Photograph ©2015 by Brian Cohen.

Nightstands with lamps on them were on each side of the bed. On one nightstand was an alarm clock and a telephone.

Hilton Capital Grand Abu Dhabi

Photograph ©2015 by Brian Cohen.

Adjacent to the bed is a bank of closets, which contained slippers, a safe, an ironing board, an iron, a laundry bag, a shoe shining kit, hangers, a spare bed sheet, shelves and four drawers which offered plenty of storage space.

Hilton Capital Grand Abu Dhabi

Photograph ©2015 by Brian Cohen.

Across from the bed is a desk equipped with various ports and outlets on the wall, a white chest of drawers, a large mirror and a flat-screen television.

Hilton Capital Grand Abu Dhabi

Photograph ©2015 by Brian Cohen.

Oddly, the thermostat and wall switches were different in this suite that those found in the larger suite.

Hilton Capital Grand Abu Dhabi

Photograph ©2015 by Brian Cohen.

On this particular wall switch, the dimming of lights can be controlled in all rooms in the suite — including the bathroom — either individually or collectively.

Hilton Capital Grand Abu Dhabi

Photograph ©2015 by Brian Cohen.

The view from this suite is that of the pool complex of the hotel property.

The Bathroom

Hilton Capital Grand Abu Dhabi

Photographs ©2015 by Brian Cohen.

This suite is equipped with two bathrooms. I only took photographs of the master bathroom, which had one sink instead of the two sinks in the master bathroom of the larger suite.

Hilton Capital Grand Abu Dhabi

Photograph ©2015 by Brian Cohen.

As with the larger suite, the master bathroom was also equipped with a bathtub — complete with a sprayer…

Hilton Capital Grand Abu Dhabi

Photograph ©2015 by Brian Cohen.

…as well as amenities such as a bar of soap, a shower cap, a sewing kit, shampoo, liquid soap, conditioner and body lotion on a metal tray at one end of the bathtub. Next to the two metal cups is a remote control…

Hilton Capital Grand Abu Dhabi

Photograph ©2015 by Brian Cohen.

…to use for the television embedded within a mirror on the wall, which you can watch while soaking in the bathtub. A telephone is also available on the wall at the other end of the bathtub.

Hilton Capital Grand Abu Dhabi

Photograph ©2015 by Brian Cohen.

Two robes — as well as towels — hang outside of the shower stall…

Hilton Capital Grand Abu Dhabi

Photograph ©2015 by Brian Cohen.

…and the toilet and bidet area is located adjacent to the shower stall.

Hilton Capital Grand Abu Dhabi

Photographs ©2015 by Brian Cohen.

Both the shower stall and toilet and bidet area are accessible via a glass door for each; and the shower stall is equipped with a rainshower head which points straight down..

Hilton Capital Grand Abu Dhabi

Photograph ©2015 by Brian Cohen.

The Executive Lounge

Hilton Capital Grand Abu Dhabi

Photograph ©2015 by Brian Cohen.

The executive lounge is equipped with two computers between its entrance and the area where food is displayed.

Hilton Capital Grand Abu Dhabi

Photograph ©2015 by Brian Cohen.

Four items of hot food — which can comprise of a small meal, depending on what is available in the evening — as well as other food items are available in the evening. A full continental breakfast with several hot items are available in the morning.

Hilton Capital Grand Abu Dhabi

Photograph ©2015 by Brian Cohen.

Assorted fruit, a small variety of breads and pastries, dry cereal, and hot coffee and different kinds of tea are on display in the area where guests can sit and eat while watching the flat-screen television on the wall.

Hilton Capital Grand Abu Dhabi

Photograph ©2015 by Brian Cohen.

Summary

Other than the minor comments posted in this review, it was difficult to give any negative reviews, as this stay was also nearly flawless — similar to my first stay in the larger suite at this hotel property. The room was clean and comfortable; and service from the staff was attentive — but only when I wanted it to be attentive. Otherwise, I was left alone. Once again, I was even able to park the car in the small parking lot just outside of the hotel at no charge.

I highly recommend this hotel property; and at a room rate of $79.00 for the night, this stay was arguably even more of a bargain than the stay in the larger suite.

What brand will take over this hotel property on Wednesday, December 18, 2019 is still unknown at the time this article was written — but although Abu Dhabi will be without a Hilton brand hotel or resort property once the Hilton Capital Grand Abu Dhabi is rebranded, the Hilton Abu Dhabi Yas Island Resort was announced back on Monday, June 12, 2017 and is expected to fill that void in the near future. No date for the grand opening of that resort property has been announced at the time this article was written.

In addition to this hotel property, I also stayed at the former Hilton Abu Dhabi near the corniche. I intend to write a retrospective trip report pertaining to that stay.

While not near central Abu Dhabi, this hotel property is conveniently located only a few minutes from Highway E10 and Highway E11, which will take you approximately 20 minutes from Abu Dhabi International Airport — or you can continue on to Dubai in approximately two hours. The corniche in Abu Dhabi is fewer than 20 minutes away if you take Al Khaleej Al Arabi Street. Sheikh Zayed Grand Mosque is only six minutes away by car; or you can walk to it door to door in less than one hour. I rarely encountered traffic; so access to virtually anywhere within the Abu Dhabi emirate via automobile is relatively easy.

Hilton Capital Grand Abu Dhabi
Sheikh Rashid Bin Saeed Al Maktoum Street Road
United Arab Emirates
+971-2-617 0000
+971-2-617 0925 Fax

All photographs ©2015 by Brian Cohen.


 

Please note that I receive compensation for affiliate links posted at The Gate effective as of Sunday, January 1, 2017. You are not required to use these affiliate links; but if you do use them, your support of The Gate is greatly appreciated — and using affiliate links will not cost you any extra time or money.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

BoardingArea