Coca-Cola Bottles With a Yellow Cap Return in 2020 — But Only For a Limited Time…

It is that time of year again.

You might be wandering through the soft drink aisle in a supermarket or grocery store and noticed that bottles of Coca-Cola suddenly have bright yellow caps on them instead of the more familiar red caps — and you might have asked yourself why those yellow caps are on them.

Coca-Cola Bottles With a Yellow Cap Return in 2020 — But Only For a Limited Time…

Bottles of Coca-Cola topped with a yellow cap indicate that the soft drink is Kosher for Passover, which begins at sundown on Wednesday evening, April 8, 2020 and lasts for eight days in most places around the world; but only for seven days in Israel.

Corn is one of the foods known as kitniyot, which is in the group of foods considered not Kosher for Passover whose texture is similar to wheat, barley, oat, spelt or rye flour — all of which are forbidden for consumption during Passover because they are considered chametz. When they come in contact with water, leavening — the act of fermentation and rising with food products such as many breads and cakes — can occur.

During Passover every year, people of the Jewish faith eat matzoh and avoid leavened products because when Jewish people escaped from ancient Egypt and the rule of the Pharaoh, they would stop along the way to eat when hungry — but they were in such a hurry that there was no time to wait for the dough to rise; so they ate the flattened food which came to be known as matzoh. To this day, matzoh is eaten during Passover to never forget what happened; and eating matzoh during Passover is a commandment of the Torah. No leavened food products — or, with some sects of Judaism, food products which emulate leavened products — are eaten at all during Passover.

Because corn is one of those products forbidden to be eaten during Passover, Coca-Cola and other soft drinks cannot be definitively verified as Kosher for Passover by a Mashgiach, who supervises the process of ensuring that an establishment follows the laws of Kashrut, which determines the dietary laws in Judaism and from where the word Kosher comes…

Coca-Cola Kosher for Passover

Photograph ©2017 by B. Cohen.

…so to comply with the laws of Kashrut and be able to sell products to Jewish people who observe Passover, high fructose corn syrup is replaced by sucrose — which is extracted from real sugar cane or beet sugar — in the ingredients of select Coca-Cola products for a limited time.

Additional information is provided by Chabad — a philosophy of the Lubavitch movement of Judaism — pertaining to kitniyot and matzoh.

The History of How Coca-Cola Became Kosher For Passover

“It took an Atlanta rabbi joining forces with executives at the world’s top beverage company”, according to this article — which contains the interesting history of how Coca-Cola became Kosher for Passover — written by Mackensy Lunsford at the official Internet web site of Coca-Cola. “But thanks to the tenacity of Rabbi Tobias Geffen — and that of his thirsty congregation — observant Jews can sip Kosher Coca-Cola during Passover.”

Coca-Cola Kosher for Passover

The yellow cap is your assurance that this bottle of Coca-Cola is Kosher for Passover — and not made with high-fructose corn syrup. Photograph ©2017 by B. Cohen.

The end result is syrups and concentrates approved and certified as Kosher by the Orthodox Union of Jewish Congregations. The OU which is stamped on yellow caps of Coca-Cola — most commonly at the tops of plastic two-liter bottles — is one of the most widely recognized Kosher symbols.

The P on the cap next to the OU means that the beverage may be used for Passover.

Summary

As I have mentioned in this article pertaining to the sale of smaller cans of soda for more money, I enjoy occasionally consuming soft drinks; but I typically prefer to do that only at lunch or dinner time — although I will consume some soda once in a rare while when it is not time for a meal. I drink either water or juice at most other times whenever I am thirsty…

…but I must admit that I do enjoy those cold glass bottles of Coca-Cola manufactured in Mexico and many other locations around the world because they are made with real sugar. While soft drinks made with real sugar are better than those made with high-fructose corn syrup, in my opinion, they still are not as satisfying as a soft drink made with real sugar and stored in a glass bottle, as some people argue that soda packaged in aluminum cans and plastic bottles are not as good.

If you enjoy Coca-Cola and other products made with sucrose as opposed to high fructose corn syrup, now is the time to enjoy them…

…although there are “retro” bottles of soft drinks available which are sold in glass bottles all year long — if you are willing to pay the higher prices for them.

Chag Kasher v’Sameach — חַג כָּשֵׁר וְשָׂמֵחַ — if you celebrate Pesach.

All photographs ©2017 by B. Cohen.

6 thoughts on “Coca-Cola Bottles With a Yellow Cap Return in 2020 — But Only For a Limited Time…”

  1. Barry Graham says:

    Chag Kasher v’Sameach to you too! The introductory question “Why is this night different from all other nights?” has new meaning this year.

    1. Brian Cohen says:

      …and that new meaning is arguably an unprecedented meaning, Barry Graham.

      I have been asking “why is this pandemic different from all other pandemics?”

      Thank you!

  2. Dan says:

    Slight correction, the P on the cap stands for Passover, not Parve.

    If an OU product is dairy it will say OU-D, if it contains meat it will say OU-Meat, and if it contains fish it will say OU-Fish. Parve products containing none of those items will just say OU.

    Happy Passover and stay safe!

    Dan

    1. Brian Cohen says:

      Thank you so much for the correction, Dan — and I always like when you stop by here.

      Happy Pesach; and you stay safe as well.

  3. SO_CAL_RETAIL_SLUT says:

    Ironically, this year, I’m not seeing much in the way of yellow-capped 2 liter Coca-Cola bottles at my local grocers. Reminds me of the “shortage” that Coke had in 2008. Supposedly a sugar shortage that year prevented the Coke bottlers from producing enough Kosher Coke.

    I did manage to find a few yellow capped bottles this year sitting on a display at a local Kroger-owned Ralphs Fresh Fare. At least the Kosher Coke wasn’t subject to the quantity restrictions such as bleach, toilet paper, paper towels and Lysol that the shelf strippers are so fond of…lol

    When I tell other people who may not keep Kosher that you can actually purchase 2 liter bottles of Coke with real sugar – they think I’m delirious and swear the only Coke that has sugar is the stuff imported from Mexico…little do they know…

    SO_CAL_RETAIL_SLUT

    1. Brian Cohen says:

      I hope that you find more of those bottles of Coca-Cola with the yellow caps this year, SO_CAL_RETAIL_SLUT.

      I am not sure how many people would say that sucrose is real sugar — even though it is the main component of real sugar — because usually sugar is what is printed on the label of ingredients and not sucrose.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

BoardingArea